Arts & Humanities

    • Sirs Renaissance

      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number or a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number.

      Recommended for: High school, College and university. Provides dynamic information on the following topics: architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts. Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,200 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs, and illustrations. Full text.

  • Automotive

    • Alldata 
      Available in the Library only

      A comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.

    • Chilton Library
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make, and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.
        

  • Biography

    • Biography & Genealogy Master Index  
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Bibliographic citations only -- no full-text.

    • Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      This is a comprehensive online biographical reference database that combines approximately 50 of the most frequently consulted Gale biographical databases with more than 250 full-text periodicals.

  • Business & Legal

    • Business and Company ASAP
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Providing researchers with information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers, and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Access business and trade journals, newspapers, and company directory profiles with full text and images.

    • Business and Company Resource Center
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
       

    • InfoTrac Small Business Collection
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals
    • LegalTrac
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number

      LegalTrac includes indexing from 1,800 titles: major law reviews, legal newspapers, law specialty publications, bar association journals, and international legal journals. Also included are law related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. It covers 1980 to the present.
       
    • State Bar of Michigan
      Available to everyone
      Links on the page direct users to general articles on finding legal help; locating Michigan law libraries; researching law; and to other general Michigan law websites. In addition, pages provide more detailed information and links in the areas of family law, elder law, criminal law, wills and trusts, and landlord-tenant law.
       

  • Careers

    • CAREER ONE STOP
      Available to everyone
      is a U.S. Department of Labor-sponsored Web site that offers career resources and workforce information to job seekers, students, businesses, and workforce professionals to foster talent development in a global economy. 

    • HELPING HAND
      Available to everyone
      This site helps Michigan citizens facing economic hardship find the services they need. Simply click on one of the five tabs below for links to information about jobs and training, unemployment benefits, health care, family support and housing. Then click on the particular links that describes the help you're seeking.

    • Learning Express Library
      Initial registration must be in the library. After that this is accessible from home.
      Recommended for: General user. Interactive online learning platform of academic and licensing/certification practice tests, elementary level testing for math and reading. Includes a section that takes users from job assessment to success on the job. A tutorial course series designed to help all learners succeed on the tests they must pass includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of practice test results.
  • Community

    • MAKING THE RIGHT CONNECTION
      Available to everyone.

      A user-friendly directory for Macomb County school personnel to help link students and their families with community services.

  • Computers

    • Computer Database
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Computer Database provides full-text, index and image articles from periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. This resource includes 150 indexed and 103 full-text titles. Time period covered 1980 to the present.
       

  • Education

    • Learning Express Library
      Initial registration must be in the library. After that this is accessible from home.
      Recommended for: General user. Interactive online learning platform of academic and licensing/certification practice tests, elementary level testing for math and reading. Includes a section that takes users from job assessment to success on the job. A tutorial course series designed to help all learners succeed on the tests they must pass includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of practice test results.
    • World Book Online for Kids
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number.
      World Book Online for Kids was developed especially for young public library patrons. The site offers easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.  

      World Book Online Info Finder
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number.
      World Book Online Info Finder contains content and features designed for school-aged patrons’ homework and research needs. Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the site features rich collections of multimedia on a variety of topics, science fair projects; a Biography Center; links to world newspapers, correlations to curriculum standards, 21st century research guides, and much more.

      World Book Online Reference Center
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number.
      World Book Online Reference Center is a powerful reference tool for advanced researchers and information seekers. The site features thousands of e-books, tens of thousands of articles, and hundreds of thousands of primary source documents and features developed especially for public library patrons such as Computer and Web Tutorials, How To... documents, and Government Resources. 

  • Genealogy & History

    • Ancestry Library Edition
      Available in the Library only
      This database offers full-text information on genealogy resources

    • Heritage Quest Online
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number or a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number.
      Heritage Quest Online includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more. It also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.

    • InfoTrac World History Collection
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field; useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.

    • The Making of Modern Michigan
      Available to everyone.
      This database is a collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.

    • SLC Digital Media Archive
      Available to everyone.
      This resource gives users access to historical and genealogical materials in digital form.  View old pictures, maps, and documents from Macomb County, Troy, and Harper Woods.

  • General Information

    • Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number or a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number.
      In the 1960s; the Michigan State University (MSU) Library began to collect printed turfgrass materials. In 1968, the personal collection of the late O.J. Noer, pioneer turf agronomist, was added to the library holdings through the O.J. Noer Foundation. Today, the combined collection is recognized as the most extensive public collection of turfgrass material in existence.

      Between 1983 and 1992, the United States Golf Association (USGA) Turfgrass Research Program supported the development of the USGA Turfgrass Information File (TGIF). Using the Noer Collection as a foundation, TGIF was designed to systematically inventory published turf research and make the bibliographic information available via a computerized database.
        

    • World Book Online for Kids
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number.
      World Book Online for Kids was developed especially for young public library patrons. The site offers easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.  

      World Book Online Info Finder
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number.
      World Book Online Info Finder contains content and features designed for school-aged patrons’ homework and research needs. Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the site features rich collections of multimedia on a variety of topics, science fair projects; a Biography Center; links to world newspapers, correlations to curriculum standards, 21st century research guides, and much more.

      World Book Online Reference Center
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number.
      World Book Online Reference Center is a powerful reference tool for advanced researchers and information seekers. The site features thousands of e-books, tens of thousands of articles, and hundreds of thousands of primary source documents and features developed especially for public library patrons such as Computer and Web Tutorials, How To... documents, and Government Resources. 

  • Health & Medicine

    • Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

    • Health Reference Center Academic
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.  Covers 1980 to the present.

    • InfoTrac Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      custom collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to many topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

  • Kids/Homework

    • Elibrary Elementary
      Requires the library's Elibrary user name and password
      Recommended for: K-12. All full text. Video, audio, books, pictures, magazines, maps, newspapers, & transcripts of TV and radio shows.
       

    • Junior Edition
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Covers 2007 to the present.

    • Kid's Edition - K12 
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Formerly PrimaryTOM, this periodical database with almost 125 titles, is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, from publishers such as Cobblestones and Scholastic and Time, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

    • Kids InfoBits
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
       

    • Student Edition
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

    • Sirs Discoverer Deluxe
      Requires library's SirsDiscover authorization number and password.

      This database, geared towards kids, contains thousands of full-text articles selected from more than 1000 magazines, newspapers, and government documents. 

      World Book Online for Kids
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number.
      World Book Online for Kids was developed especially for young public library patrons. The site offers easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.  

  • Language

    • Informe!
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.  Covers 1994 to the present.

      Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias. 

  • Literature & Books

    • Books and Authors (effective August 12th)
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Reading Advice. A database to help you decide what to read next. Search by character, topic, setting, time period, genre, title, author and series. Will also make recommendations based upon likes and dislikes.

    • eBooks
      Requires your Chesterfield Township Library card number or a Michigan Driver's License or State ID number.
      Over 20,000 eBooks available on all topics. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only. Netlibrary users ALERT--the collection has changed its name to eBooks. Along with the name change come access changes as well. Personal usernames and passwords will no longer work.Logging in from MeL.org remains the same.
    • Literature Resource Center
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. 

    • MelCAT
      Available to everyone.
      A statewide catalog of items held in participating libraries, sponsored by Michigan Electronic Library.
       

    • MICHIGAN AUTHORS AND ILLUSTRATORS DATABASE
      Available to everyone.
      Michigan Authors and Illustrators (MIAI) is a database of information on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or who have written books about or set in Michigan. Each entry includes biographical information, lists of works by the person and lists of works about the person.  Click on the link labeled "Search MIAI Database Only" to begin searching.
       

    • NoveList Plus
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      NoveList Plus lets users search for fiction and Non-fiction books.  Find titles by author, plot, or series.  It even has topics for book discussion groups and lists of award-winning titles.
       

    • NoveList K-8 Plus
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction for younger readers. 

  • Magazine Articles

    • Academic OneFile
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number. Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

    • Expanded Academic ASAP
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.  Covers 1980 to the present.

    • InfoTrac Power Search
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Use this general interest database to search magazines, journals, reference books, digital books and newspapers for information.

  • Newspapers

    • America's Obituaries and Death Notices
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.  An ideal resource for genealogical research.  Easily searchable by name of the deceased, date range, or text, such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members or other personal information, contained in the obituary or death notice.  Covers major and regional newspapers in the United States.

    • InfoTrac Newstand
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      This database provides full text coverage from 1996-current of 120 of the most prolific newspapers in the U.S. and the world.
    • New York Times
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      Full text of this newspaper for the past 12 months.  Updated daily. 
  • Science

    • InfoTrac General Science Collection
      Requires your Chesterfield library card number
      A custom collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.