Friends of the Library

search our website:

Friends of the Library

The Friends of the Chesterfield Township Library, organized in 2001, is an independent 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization, a volunteer group dedicated to strengthening and improving library services for our community. Even in a community that loves its library, public funding is not enough for the library to provide all the essential resources that residents seek. The Library depends on the Friends to support those resources. The Friends invest advocacy and education, contributions, fund-raising efforts, gift administration, and volunteer efforts in the Library because strong libraries make strong communities.

Adults seeking volunteer opportunities at the Library are encouraged to become a member of the Friends of the Chesterfield Township Library.

Officers
President: Michael Kirsten
Vice-President: Cindy Duchene
Treasurer: Briana Overholt
Recording Secretary: Janice Marentette
Membership Secretary: Susan Ekrut

By Laws for Friends of the Chesterfield Township Library

Meeting Schedule
Saturday, November 09, 2019 @ 1:00 p.m.
Tuesday, January 07, 2020 @ 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 03, 2020 @ 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, May 05, 2020 @ 6:30 p.m.

The Library accepts donations of used books, DVDs, and CD's for the Friends of the Library monthly book sale. 
Donations may be dropped off at the Library during normal operating hours.

2019 Used Book Sale Dates
Friday, October 18, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, October 19, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Friday, November 15, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, November 16, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Friday, December 13, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, December 14, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

2020 Used Book Sale Dates
Friday, January 10, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, January 11, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Friday, Febrary 07, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, February 08, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m
Friday, March 06, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 07, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m
Friday, April 03, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 04, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m
Friday, May 01, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, May 02, 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m


Friends of the Library Mission Statement
The purpose of this organization shall be to foster and maintain an association of persons interested in libraries, the arts, our cultural heritage, and the promotion of knowledge by establishing a closer relationship between the library and its community; to promote interest and support for the library's functions; resources, services and activities, to raise funds for projects, activities or acquisitions in excess of budgeted library resources; to support and cooperate with the library as it develops services and facilities for the community; and to support the Freedom to Read and the Freedom to View as expressed in the American Library Association Bill of Rights.